

COMITÉ MARITIME INTERNATIONAL

Agenda for meeting of CMI virtual Assembly on Thursday, 30 September 2021 at 1400 hours (Antwerp time)

[Please note that, to assist in the presentation of speakers online, the names of speakers have wherever possible been added in italics]

- 1. Report of the Credentials Committee (John O'Connor)
- 2. Memorials
- (a) Tulio Alvarez Ledo (Venezuela) (*President of Venezuela MLA José Sabatino*)
- (b) Giorgio Cavallo (Italy) (*President of Italy MLA Giorgio Berlingieri*)
- (c) Nigel Frawley (Canada) (*President of Canada MLA -* J. Paul M. Harquail) (*Stuart Hetherington*)
- (d) Javier Galiano (Spain) (*President of AEDM Eduardo Albors*)
- (e) Rolf Herber (Germany) (President of Germany MLA Klaus Ramming)
- (f) Aliki Kiantou-Pambouki (Greece Gregory Timagenis) (*President* of Greece MLA)
- (g) Fernando Meana Green (Spain) (President of AEDM Eduardo Albors)
- (h) Tom Mensah (IMO) (*Rosalie Balkin*)
- (i) William "Bill" O'Neil (IMO) (*Rosalie Balkin*)

- (j) Jan Sandström (Sweden) (President of Sweden MLA Paula Bäckden)
- (k) Nicholas G. Scorinis (Greece) (*President of Greece MLA* Gregory Timagenis)
- (1) Jan Theunis (Belgium) (President of Belgium MLA Vincent Fransen)
- (m) Julio Sanchez-Vegas (Venezuela) (*President of Venezuela MLA José Sabatino*)
- 3. Approval of the Minutes of the Correspondence Assembly held on 30 June 2021 (Attachment 3)
- 4. Finances (N.B.: The Accounts for 2020, the Budgets for 2021 and 2022, and the nomination of Vandelanotte as Auditors for the 2021 Accounts were approved at the 30 June 2021 Correspondence Assembly)
 - (a) Treasurer's Report (Attachment 4a) (*Peter Verstuyft*)
 - (b) Audit Committee Report (Attachment 4b) (*Måns Jacobsson*)
 - (c) CMI Cash Position (Attachment 4c) (*Peter Verstuyft*)
 - (d) Budget Review 2021 2022 (Attachment 4d) (*Peter Verstuyft*)
 - (e) Report on Collection of Outstanding Subscriptions (Attachment 4e) (*John O'Connor*)
 - (f) Charitable Trust Report (Attachment 4f) (*Tom Birch Reynardson*)

5. Membership

- (a) Application by RUMLA (Russian MLA) (Attachment 5a (i) & (ii)) (*Dieter Schwampe*)
- (b) Applications Titulary Membership: (Attachment 5b (i)-(vi))

Prof Manuel Alba AEDM (Eduardo Albors)

Mr Jesus Casas AEDM (Eduardo Albors)

Mrs Mercedes Duch AEDM (Eduardo Albors)

Mr Javier Portales AEDM (Eduardo Albors)

Ms Barbara Holland USA MLA (David Farrell)

Mr Jan-Erik Pötschke (German MLA) (Tilo Wallrabenstein)

Mr Dragan Bolanca (Croatian MLA) (Igor Vio)

Mrs Dorotea Coric (Croatian MLA) (Igor Vio)

- 6. Future Meetings
 - (a) 125th Anniversary Meeting: Antwerp 2022 (*video*)
 - (b) Assembly Meeting: Montreal 2023
 - (c) Assembly Meeting: Gothenburg 2024 (video)
 - (d) Conference: Tokyo 2025

7. International Workings Groups:

- (a) Acts of Piracy and Maritime Violence (*Andrew Taylor*)
- (b) Fair Treatment of Seafarers (including Pandemic Response and Migration at Sea) (*Paul Gill*)
- (c) Recognition of Foreign Judicial Sale of Ships (Attachment 7c (i), (ii) & (iii)) (Ann Fenech)
- (d) Polar Shipping (Attachment 7d (i) & (ii)) (*David Baker*)
- (e) Offshore Activities (Attachment 7e) (*Jorge Radovich*)
- (f) Security Interests over Shipping Containers (Attachment 7f) (*Benoit Goemans*)
- (g) Study relating to Liability for Wrongful Arrest (Attachment 7g) (*Aleka Sheppard*)
- (h) Restatement of *Lex Maritima* (*Eric van Hooydonk*)
- (i) Ship Nomenclature (*Francis Nolan*)
- (j) Classification Societies (*Luc Grellet*)
- (k) Cybercrime Correspondence (Attachment 7k) (Julian Clark)
- (1) MASS Report (Attachment 71) (*Tom Birch-Reynardson*)
- (m) Unified Interpretation on the Test for Breaking the Owner's Right to Limit Liability under the IMO Liability and Compensation Conventions (Attachment 7m (i), (ii)& (iii)) (John Markianos-Daniolos and Dieter Schwampe)

8. Standing Committees:

- (a) Marine Insurance (Attachment 8a) (Joseph Grasso)
- (b) General Average (including Guidelines to the York Antwerp Rules 2016) (Attachment 8b (i), (ii) & (iii)) (*Jörn Groninger*)
- (c) General Average Interest Rates (*Taco van der Valk*)
- (d) Carriage of Goods by Sea (including Rotterdam Rules) (Attachment 8d (i) & (ii)) (*Tomotaka Fujita*)
- (e) CMI Young Lawyers (*Robert Hoepel*)
- (f) Planning Committee (*Rosalie Balkin*)
- (g) Implementation and Promotion of Maritime Conventions (*Deucalion Rediadis*)
- (h) Database of Judicial Decisions on International Conventions (*Stephen Girvin*)
- (i) Constitution Committee (Jean- François Peters)
- (j) Publications and Website: Yearbook, Newsletter, LinkedIn, Website (*Taco van der Valk*)
- 9. Singapore Regional Office (*Lawrence Teh*)
- 10. CMI Young Persons' Essay Prize Winner Dr. Eva Litina (Attachment 10) (John Hare)
- 11. Elections:
- (a) Report of the Nominating Committee (Attachment 11 (i) & (ii)) (Andrew Taylor)
- (b) Elections of:
- (i) Current President
- (ii) Two current Vice Presidents
- (iii) Three current Executive Councilors
- (iv) Two Executive Councilors
 - (c) Power of Attorney and special mandate to Jean Francois-Peters to fulfill all legally required formalities and to sign all necessary documents recording these appointments and decisions taken at the Assembly

12. Any other business

Link to the attachments:

https://comitemaritimeinternational-my.sharepoint.com/:f:/g/personal/adminantwerp_comitemaritime_org/ElsdE5WcawVEr8zSeHad1_YBgteBb9lQkWF5nQieeFBY3w?e=0 RQq68

If you have any difficulties in opening on this link, please click on the box "Virtual Assembly September 2021" at the beginning of the e-mail.